Peer counsellors – Who are we?

Like you, we are University of Ottawa students who used Counselling and Coaching Service for support in helping us overcome personal challenges that were getting in the way of our success at university. Our shared experience can help us understand and support you in what you are going through.

We have been trained to listen and provide informal emotional support to assist you in achieving your goals. To connect with one of us, please speak to your counsellor at C&CS. We look forward to becoming part of your support network.

Alix

Alix

Hello! I grew up in Kitchener, however I have always been drawn to Ottawa for its "small, big city" feel. I'm in my fourth year of Psychology with dreams to find a career in counselling for adolescents. I know first hand that University life can be so demanding with pressure to juggle all many aspects of life; friends, family, education, etc. I am a strong believer in self-care and I hope that I can use the opportunity of being your peer counsellor to help you feel balanced and supported in your life endeavors! 

Carolyn

Victoria

Hello! My name is Carolyn, and I am a 3rd year Psychology student, originally from Calgary, AB. This will be my 4th year working as a peer counsellor! My hobbies include cooking, making art, running, yoga, playing volleyball, dancing, being outside in nature, and laughing with my friends. I look forward to connect and get to know you! I’m happy to go for tea and chat about anything you like. Since being in Ottawa for the past six years, I feel like I have learned to overcome many challenges that life threw at me - from issues surrounding trauma, relationships, transitioning to university life in a new province, and anxiety and fear. I found a lot of compassion, safety, and support from the SASS counselling services; they were a major factor in my own personal growth and development. I hope to be a part of your support system, and I look forward to meeting you!

Emma

Emma

Originally from Gaspé, Quebec, I have came to Ottawa in 2012 to pursue a bachelor degree in Civil Law, I then switched to a bachelor in psychology and linguistics. In April, I graduated from my undergrad and now I am doing a master’s degree in linguistics. I have had many challenges and many successes during my undergrad (as has every student does) and I am really looking forward to being part of your support network. I enjoy playing piano, guitar, and voice, and love outdoor sports: hiking, skiing, skating – anything that ends with -ing. Hope to see you soon!

Erin

Erin

Hi there!

I’m a fourth year Psychology student with a minor in Women’s Studies. I also love to write stories and, as of this year, I am the Vice President of the Creative Writing Club on campus. This is my second year as a peer counselor, and I am very excited to be back! I’m especially interested in the issues faced by people in the LGBTQ+ community. I have a lot of experience struggling with school stress, relationships, and self-esteem, and I’d love to use my experience to help other students deal with their own struggles. 

Karan

Karan

Hello! My name is Karan and I’m a 4th year Biomedical Sciences student. I’m originally from Oakville, ON which is a part of the Greater Toronto Area. My hobbies include guitar, exercise and spending time with friends. I’m also a First Responder on campus and balance the  challenges of being a full time student, maintaining a support network and fulfilling my own goals and aspirations. I found a lot of support from SASS counselling and coaching in issues surrounding relationships, school and managing a busy schedule. I’m really looking forward to getting to know you and being a part of your support system.

Back to top

Étudiants-conseillers – qui sommes-nous?

Comme vous, nous sommes des étudiants à l'université d'Ottawa qui ont eu recours au Service de counselling et de coaching afin de surmonter des défis personnels qui ont nui à notre potentiel de réussite à l'université.

Notre expérience fait en sorte que nous pouvons comprendre ce que vous vivez et vous aider à passer à travers des moments difficiles. Nous avons été formés pour vous écouter et vous procurer un soutien émotionnel informel pour vous amener à atteindre vos buts.

Pour nous joindre, veuillez en parler à votre conseiller ou conseillère du Service de counselling et de coaching. C'est avec plaisir que nous comptons faire partie de votre réseau de soutien.

Alix

Salut!

J’ai grandi à Kitchener et j’ai toujours été séduite par la ville d’Ottawa pour le sentiment de “petite ville dans une grande ville” qu’on peut y ressentir. Je termine mon baccalauréat en psychologie cette année avec l’espoir d'avoir une carrière en counselling chez les adolescents. Durant mes études, j’ai eu du mal à gérer tous les différents aspects de ma vie en même temps: études, famille, amis, etc. Je crois grandement dans le développement personnel et j’espère pouvoir être votre conseillère par les pairs afin de vous aider à trouver de l’équilibre et du soutien durant votre cheminement universitaire. 

Victoria

Bonjour! Mon nom est Carolyn. Originaire de Calgary, en Alberta, je suis dans ma 3ème année au baccalauréat en psychologie. C’est la 4ème année que je travaille comme conseillère par les pairs! Mes loisirs comprennent la cuisine, faire de l'art, la course, le yoga, jouer au volleyball, la danse, être dans la nature, et de rire avec mes amis On peut aller prendre un café et vous pouvez venir me parler de tout ce qui vous préoccupe. Depuis mon arrivée à Ottawa il y a six ans, j’ai appris à surmonter beaucoup de défis que la vie m’a lancés, liés au traumatisme, aux relations personnelles, à la transition à la vie universitaire dans un nouveau milieu, à l’anxiété et à la peur. Grâce aux Services de counseling et coaching du SASS, j’ai trouvé un sentiment de sécurité et de l’appui et beaucoup de compassion. Ils ont joué un rôle important dans ma croissance et mon développement personnel. J’espère avoir le plaisir de vous rencontrer et de faire partie de votre système de soutien!

Emma

Bonjour! En quelques mots, je suis une gaspésienne qui est attérie à Ottawa en 2012 pour faire ses études en droit, pour ensuite transférer en psychologie, pour ensuite faire ses études graduées en linguisque. Ah oui et j’ai fait mon diplôme d’études collégiales en arts de la scène. Simplement en observant mon parcours on peut deviner que j’ai fait face à plusieurs grands questionnements identitaires, mais j’aime dire que ce sont ces choix qui ont façonné la personne que je suis aujourd’hui. J’aime jouer le piano, la guitare et le chant et j’adore faire des activités en plein air : ski, patin, randonnée, kayak, voile et j’en passe. L’équipe de counselling par les pairs est une équipe de jeunes qui sont là pour partager vos épreuves et vos succès autour d’un bon café. J’espère vous voir bientôt!

Erin

Bonjour!

Je suis une étudiante en quatrième année dans le programme de psychologie avec une mineure en étude des femmes. J’aime écrire et je suis la vice présidente du club d’écriture créative cette année. De plus, je suis très engagée dans la communauté LGBTQ+. Ceci est ma deuxième année en tant que conseillère par les pairs et je suis très enthousiaste d’être de retour! Lors de mes études universitaires, j’ai dû surmonter plusieurs épreuves liées au stress, aux relations interpersonnelles et à l’estime de soi. J’espère pouvoir utiliser ces expériences pour vous aider à gérer vos soucis personnels. J’ai hâte de vous rencontrer!

Karan

Bonjour! Je m’appelle Karan et je suis un étudiant de quatrième année en sciences biomédicales originaire d’Oakville, ON. Étant étudiant à temps plein et premier intervenant sur le campus, il a été difficile pour moi d’équilibrer mes études à temps plein, ma vie sociale, mon travail, ainsi que de concrétiser mes aspirations de vie. Le Service de counseling et de coaching m’a aidé à surmonter ces défis ainsi que des problèmes relationnels. J’aime jouer la guitare, faire des sports et passer du temps avec mes amis. J’ai hâte de vous rencontrer et faire partie de votre système de soutien!

Haut de page