SASS' Blog

Published on June 15, 2016

SASS – A valuable resource during your time at university

In the coming weeks and months, you’ll be inundated with important details, dates to remember and activities you won’t want to miss. In the midst of all this activity, and even after the dust settles, the Student Academic Success Service (SASS) is a valuable resource to help you succeed in your studies.

The goal of the many SASS services available across campus is to help all our students succeed.

Academic Writing Help Centre

The Academic Writing Help Centre (AWHC) is a peer support service that helps uOttawa students develop writing strategies and skills. Whether you’d like help with structuring your ideas, learning about the different bibliographic styles, avoiding plagiarism or better understanding the different grammar rules, AWHC is here for you.

Aboriginal Resource Centre

The Aboriginal Resource Centre is a space where Inuit, Métis and First Nations students can meet, help one another and enrich their own and others’ experience at university. The Centre also promotes Aboriginal culture and traditions at different activities and events.

Student Mentoring

The Student Mentoring was created to connect students with peer mentors who can provide them with support throughout their time at uOttawa. The goal of the program is to allow you to make a smooth transition to university and provide you with support during your studies. With 18 mentoring centres, 215 student mentors, 26 different workshop topics, 48 study groups and a variety of online resources, the SASS mentoring will help you acquire the knowledge and techniques you need for academic success.

Access Service

Access Services works with our university community to facilitate the academic accommodation process for all students with a permanent or temporary disability. Access Service provides adapted exam services, transcription and interpretation services, a mentoring centre where students can get support in adaptive technologies and individual appointments to help students determine the adaptive measures that can help them reach their academic goals.

Counselling and Coaching Service

Dedicated to providing psychological support to students in distress or facing difficulties in their life, the Counselling and Coaching Service can help you overcome obstacles in your path. Whether you’re facing difficulties related to a specific event, a transition in your life, a difficult decision, a difficult interpersonal or family situation or even your career, job or studies, the Counselling and Coaching Service can help you not only deal with these obstacles but also become better prepared should they arise again one day down the road.

Back to top

SASS Blog!

Pubié le 15 juin 2016

Le Service d’appui au succès scolaire : un incontournable pendant vos études

Au cours des prochaines semaines et des prochains mois, vous serez bombardé de renseignements utiles, de dates importantes à ne pas oublier et d’activités à ne pas manquer. Dans tout ce brouhaha, et même une fois que la frénésie de la rentrée scolaire sera passée, le Service d’appui au succès scolaire (SASS) demeurera un incontournable pour favoriser votre réussite scolaire.

Les nombreux services du SASS, disponibles partout sur le campus de l’Université d’Ottawa, visent en effet à appuyer tous les étudiantes et étudiants dans leur cheminement universitaire.

Centre d’aide à la rédaction des travaux universitaires (CARTU)

Ici pour vous aider à développer des stratégies et des compétences en rédaction, le CARTU est un service d'entraide par les pairs où tous les étudiants du campus peuvent obtenir de l'appui dans la rédaction de leurs travaux avant de les remettre au professeur. Que ce soit pour organiser vos idées, pour mieux connaître les styles de référence, pour savoir comment éviter le plagiat, ou pour mieux comprendre certaines règles de grammaire, le CARTU est là pour vous.

Centre de ressources autochtones

Destiné aux nombreux étudiants autochtones sur le campus, le Centre de ressources autochtones (CRA) est un endroit où les étudiants inuits, métis et des Premières Nations peuvent se rencontrer pour s’entraider et enrichir leur apprentissage. Le CRA fait aussi la promotion des cultures et des traditions autochtones lors de plusieurs activités.

Mentorat étudiant

Le Mentorat étudiant du SASS a pour objectif de vous accompagner tout au long de votre parcours scolaire en facilitant votre transition à l’université et en vous appuyant dans vos études. Avec ses 18 centres de mentorat, ses 215 étudiants-mentors, ses 26 ateliers, ses 48 groupes d’études et ses ressources en ligne, le mentorat du SASS vous aidera à acquérir les connaissances et les techniques qui favoriseront votre réussite scolaire.

Service d’accès

Le Service d’accès facilite la prestation de mesures d’adaptation scolaire à tous les étudiants et étudiantes en situation de handicap permanent ou temporaire. Il offre des services d’examens adaptés, de transcription et d’interprètes, un centre de mentorat en technologies adaptées et, surtout, des rencontres individuelles avec les étudiants pour déterminer les mesures d’adaptation qui permettront à ces derniers d’atteindre leurs objectifs scolaires.  

Service de counselling et de coaching

Le Service de counselling et de coaching a pour mission de soutenir psychologiquement les étudiants et étudiantes en détresse ou aux prises avec des difficultés liées à un événement, à une transition, à une prise de décision ou à une situation familiale ou interpersonnelle difficile dans leur carrière, leur travail ou leurs études. Le Service de counselling et de coaching peut vous aider à surmonter les obstacles lorsqu’ils se présentent sur votre chemin, mais aussi à vous préparer à les affronter avant qu’ils ne surviennent.

Haut de page