Book an appointment

To respect public health directives, all counselling sessions will take place virtually. Same-day counselling sessions are available virtually.

The hours of operations for the Counselling Service remain unchanged. Students can book an appointment by email (couns@uOttawa.ca) or online (link above).

LEARN MORE

BOOK YOUR VIRTUAL APPOINTMENT

Counselling Services

Grey block forming tip of pyramid; text says Pathways to specialized mental health care
 Blue block forming 6th step of pyramid; text says Meet a counsellor, Individual short-term counselling
Purple block forming 5th syep of pyramid; text says Group counselling facilitated by professional counsellors
Teal block forming 4th step of pyramid; text says Develop your skills, Peer-to-peer services and workshops
Green block forming 3rd step of pyramid; text says Self-directed online mental health resources (TAO)
Yellow block forming 2nd step of pyramid; text says Walk-In, Face-to-face single counselling session
Orange block forming base of pyramid; text says Get started, Access to online resources

FAQ

What kind of services are offered by Counselling Services?

We offer a range of counselling services. Booking a session with one of our counsellors is often the best way to determine together what service within our Stepped-Care model is the best match for a student's needs. This may include services within our program such as short-term counselling, linking to other services within or outside of the university or it may involve on-line learning resources such as Therapy Assistance On-line (or TAO). 

How can counselling services benefit me?

Counselling has been shown to be beneficial for a wide range of issues. Whether it is a single-session or short-term counselling, we work with students to better understand the challenges that they are experiencing, develop a plan, and work on building skills and strategies. These might include takeaways such as: assertiveness skills, strategies for shifting self-critical thoughts or relaxation and self-care strategies to cope with exam stress. 

What services are available for exam-related stress?

When exam stress happens, many students find that reaching out for counselling reduces stress and helps with the development of new strategies. Counsellors are able to help students with anxiety, perfectionism or self-critical thoughts that may be exacerbating exam stress. There are many resources that we can link students to that can help with stress. 

Do students retain the same counsellor or therapist?

Having a good fit between a student and a counsellor is an important part of successful counselling. After the first session, if it is decided by the counsellor and the student that more than one session would be helpful, students can choose to continue with the same counsellor, or they are welcome to request a different counsellor.  

How do I access Counselling Services (particularly during the pandemic)?

During the pandemic we are offering virtual counselling. Contacting us is easy! You can email us at couns@uottawa.ca, that’s probably the easiest way. If you're ready to make a booking you can go online and search for uOttawa counselling services and click on "book your virtual appointment". This will take you to a log in page, where you can log in using your uOttawa credentials. From here you can click on " Book an appointment" this will open up the intake questionnaire. Once you've completed the form you can view available times and make your selection.  

How long is the wait time?

While many people are surprised to hear it, we do not have a waitlist! We are generally able to see students on the same day or within 24-48hours of contacting us during our peak times. Our services are easy to access, and we will always get back to you on the same day!

How much does it cost to access services?

It’s Free! There is no fee, to all registered students of uOttawa.  

How frequent are sessions?

The frequency of sessions is determined collaboratively between the counsellor and the student. Generally, students have sessions every two weeks, but sessions can be more frequent or less frequent depending on needs. 

Is my information protected?

Yes. Under the Personal Health Information Protection Act, Counsellors and Information Officers are bound by confidentiality except where required by law such as when we become aware of a child being abused or somebody's life is in danger. Your counsellor will review the limits to confidentiality with you during your initial session. All interactions with our service are kept confidential and all information is stored in accordance with privacy standards.

Is there a limit to how many sessions I have access to?

We believe that every student's needs are different.  While our service is generally short-term, students develop a plan with their counsellor that best suits their needs. Most students find that up to 8 sessions is suitable to support most challenges. If the issues warrant long-term support or specialized services, we work in a collaborative way with students to make appropriate referrals as early as possible in the counselling process so that the student is able to quickly access specialized services to meet their needs.  If you have accessed our service in the past, you are welcome to access our service for further counselling if new issues arise throughout your time at uOttawa.  

How do I know which service best fits my needs?

Our Stepped-Care model is designed to provide a range of services based on the reality that some issues that students experience are best supported with informational resources or self-directed on-line learning programs while other issues benefit from counselling or mentoring. Our website has some great resources to help you decide but if you are in doubt, book a single-session with one of our counsellors and we can support you to make the decision about which path is best for you. 

What issues can be addressed by Counselling Services and which ones would need a referral to another service?

Many students contact our services because of various mental health issues. They are feeling anxious or depressed or maybe they have been diagnosed with a specific disorder. We are here to help students with a range of mental health challenges because we know that it can be very difficult to work through these challenges alone. We refer to outside services when we feel that that would be most helpful based on needs, not solely on diagnosis. Students are encouraged to work with their counsellor to make to best plan moving forward.

Stepped Care Model

The Counselling office offers a range of accessible resources and services based on the Stepped Care model.

Our student-centered approach aims to support and empower students so that they can thrive and find their own path to academic success and wellness.

Learn more about Stepped Care

Crisis

EMERGENCY SERVICES

 

Hours of operation

We offer modified services until further notice.

Access mental health support from the comfort of your home


On-campus hours - September 8, 2020 to May 15, 2021

Monday 9:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Tuesday 10:00 a.m. - 7:00 p.m.
Wednesday 9:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Thursday 10:00 a.m. - 7:00 p.m.
Friday 8:45 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Saturday Closed
Sunday Closed

Please note we will be closed from from 12:00 p.m. to 1:00 p.m. on Monday, Wednesday and Friday, and from 1:00 p.m. to 2:00 p.m. on Tuesday and Thursday.

Virtual hours - September 8, 2020 to May 15, 2021

Monday 8:45 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Tuesday 8:45 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Wednesday 8:45 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Thursday 8:45 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Friday 8:45 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Saturday Closed
Sunday Closed

We will be closed on the following Holidays: Labor Day, Thanksgiving, Family Day, and Easter.

Back to top

Prendre un rendez-vous

Conformément aux directives de santé publique, les séances de counseling continueront de se tenir à distance. Des séances pour le jour-même sont accessibles virtuellement.

Les heures d’ouverture du service de counseling demeurent les mêmes. Les étudiants peuvent prendre un rendez-vous par courriel (couns@uOttawa.ca) ou en ligne (lien ci-dessus).

EN SAVOIR PLUS

PRENDRE UN RENDEZ-VOUS VIRTUEL EN LIGNE

Le Service de counselling

Bloc gris foncé formant le dessus d'une pyramide, texte dit Voies d'accès de soutien en santé mentale
Bloc bleu formant le 6e étage d'une pyramide, texte dit Rencontrez un conseiller, Thérapie individuelle de courte durée
Bloc lilas formant le 5e étage d'une pyramide, texte dit Counselling de groupe offert par des conseillers professionnels
Bloc turquoise formant le 4e étage d'une pyramide, texte dit Développement de compétences, Ateliers et services de soutien par les pairs
 Bloc vert formant le 3e étage d'une pyramide, texte dit Thérapie autodirigée en ligne (TAO)
Bloc jaune formant le 2e étage d'une pyramide, texte dit Clinique sans rendez-vous, Une session de counselling en personne
Bloc orange formant la base d'une pyramide, texte dit Mise en route, Accès aux ressources en ligne

FAQ

Quels sont les services proposés?

Nous offrons une vaste gamme de services de consultation. En prenant rendez-vous, vous pourrez déterminer avec l’un de nos conseillers ou l’une de nos conseillères l’option de notre modèle progressif de services qui vous convient le mieux. Il peut s’agir des services de consultation psychologique de courte durée faisant partie de notre programme, de services offerts à l’extérieur de l’Université, ou de ressources d’apprentissage à distance comme celles de la Thérapie en ligne (TAO). 

Pourquoi devrais-je utiliser les services de consultation en santé mentale? En quoi peuvent-ils m’être utiles dans la vie de tous les jours?

Les services de counselling en santé mentale ont prouvé leur utilité dans de nombreuses situations. Qu’il s’agisse d’une séance unique ou de services de counselling de courte durée, nous travaillons toujours avec l’étudiante ou l’étudiant pour comprendre les défis à surmonter, établir un plan d’action et développer les habiletés et les stratégies appropriée. Ces habiletés et stratégies visent souvent à renforcer la confiance en soi, réorienter les pensées autocritiques, apprendre à se détendre et à prendre soin de soi. Tout avec l’objectif de mieux composer avec le stress en général, le stress lié aux examens, etc 

Quels sont les services offerts pour composer avec le stress lié aux examens?

À l’approche des examens, bon nombre d’étudiantes et d’étudiants souhaitent obtenir de l’aide pour réduire leur stress. Les conseillères et les conseillers peuvent aider à mettre en place des stratégies pour gérer différents problèmes en lien avec l’anxiété, le perfectionnisme et les pensées autocritiques, qui sont souvent exacerbés pendant cette période. Vous pouvez compter sur nous pour vous proposer une panoplie de ressources utiles. 

Les étudiants conservent-ils le même conseiller ou thérapeute?

Le succès de l’intervention repose entre autres sur la compatibilité entre l’étudiant et son conseiller. Après la première séance, si le conseiller et l’étudient décident qu’il y a lieu d’en tenir d’autres, l’étudiant est libre de continuer avec la même personne ou de demander un autre conseiller.  

Comment faire pour obtenir des services de counselling (particulièrement durant la pandémie)?

Durant la pandémie, nous offrons des services virtuels. Vous n’avez qu’à communiquer avec nous pour prendre rendez-vous. Le plus simple est de nous écrire à couns@uOttawa.ca. Vous pouvez aussi aller sur le site Web du Service de counselling et cliquer sur « Prendre un rendez-vous virtuel en ligne ». Ce lien vous mènera à une page de connexion où vous entrez vos identifiants de l’Université. Cliquez ensuite sur « Prendre un rendez-vous » et remplissez le questionnaire d’admission. Une fois que c’est fait, vous pouvez sélectionner une plage horaire disponible.  

Quelle est la durée d’attente?

Plusieurs personnes sont surprises d’apprendre que nous n’avons pas de liste d’attente. Nous sommes généralement capables de voir la clientèle le jour même ou dans un délai de 24 à 48 heures durant les moments les plus occupés. Nos services sont faciles d’accès, et nous vous répondons toujours le jour même! 

Combien coûtent les services?

C’est gratuit! Tous les étudiants inscrits à l’Université d’Ottawa peuvent bénéficier de nos services gratuitement.

À quelle fréquence peut-on rencontrer son conseiller ou thérapeute?

Le conseiller et l’étudiant déterminent ensemble la fréquence des séances. Généralement, on planifie une séance toutes les deux semaines, mais la fréquence peut être ajustée en fonction des besoins.

Mes renseignements personnels, sont-ils protégés?

Oui. En vertu de la Loi de 2004 sur la protection des renseignements personnels sur la santé, les conseillers et les agents d’information sont tenus à la confidentialité, sauf dans certaines situations précisées dans la loi, par exemple lorsqu’ils apprennent qu’un enfant est maltraité ou que la vie d’une personne est en danger. Au cours de la première séance, votre conseiller passera en revue avec vous les limites de son devoir de confidentialité. Tous les échanges dans le cadre du service de counselling sont confidentiels, et tous les renseignements sont conservés selon les normes de protection de la vie privée.

Le nombre de séances est-il limité?

Nous croyons que chacun a des besoins différents. Nous offrons habituellement des services à court terme, mais chaque étudiant établit avec son conseiller le plan qui répond le mieux à ses besoins. La plupart des étudiants trouvent que huit séances sont suffisantes pour une intervention réussie. Vous pouvez recourir à nos services de counselling plus d’une fois durant vos études à l’Université d’Ottawa si le besoin s’en fait ressentir.

Comment savoir quel service répond le mieux à mes besoins?

Notre modèle progressif de services est conçu pour offrir une gamme de services en fonction du type de problème : certains vont trouver le soutien nécessaire grâce à des ressources d’information ou à des programmes autodirigés en ligne, alors que le counselling et le mentorat sont à privilégier d’autres cas. Notre site Web offre d’excellentes ressources pour vous aider à trouver le meilleur service pour vous. En cas de doute, vous pouvez toujours prendre rendez-vous avec un conseiller ou une conseillère qui vous aidera à faire votre choix. 

Quels sont les problèmes de santé mentale pour lesquels le Service peut offrir du counselling?

Plusieurs problèmes de santé mentale poussent notre clientèle à communiquer avec nous. Certaines personnes se sentent anxieuses ou déprimées ou viennent de recevoir un diagnostic d’un trouble particulier. Nous sommes là pour les aider, parce que nous savons qu’il peut être très difficile de traverser ces épreuves sans soutien. Nous les dirigeons vers des services externes quand nous sentons que cela répondrait mieux à leurs besoins, et non pas seulement en fonction d’un diagnostic. Nous vous encourageons à consulter votre conseiller ou conseillère pour établir le plan de traitement qui vous conviendra le mieux.  

Modèle progressif de services

Le service de counselling offre une gamme accessible de ressources et de programmes basés sur le modèle progressif de services (aussi connu sous l’approche de soins par paliers).

Notre approche centrée sur les besoins et les forces de l’étudiant, vise à soutenir les membres de la communauté étudiante à se réaliser et trouver leur propre voie vers le succès scolaire et le mieux-être.

Obtenez plus de renseignements à propos du modèle progressif de services.

Crise

SERVICES D'URGENCES

  • Allo J’écoute : 1-866-925-5454
  • Ligne de crise en santé mentale : Ottawa 613-722-6914 ou Extérieur d’Ottawa 1-866-996-0991
  • ConnexOntario - Ligne d'aide en santé mentale : 1-866-531-2600
  • Centre de détresse d’Ottawa : 613-238-3311

 

Heures d’ouverture

​​​​Nous offrons des services modifiés jusqu'à nouvel ordre.

Obtenir du soutien psychologique depuis chez soi


Heures d'ouverture sur le campus - Du 8 septembre 2020 au 15 mai 2021

Lundi 9 h à 16 h 30
Mardi 10 h à 19 h
Mercredi 9 h à 16 h 30
Jeudi 10 h à 19 h
Vendredi 8 h 45 à 16 h 30
Samedi Fermé
Dimanche Fermé

Veuillez prendre note que nous serons fermés du midi à 13 h les lundis, mercredis et vendredi et de 13 h à 14 h les mardis et jeudis.

Heures d'ouverture virtuelles - Du 8 septembre 2020 au 15 mai 2021

Lundi 8 h 45 à 16 h 30
Mardi 8 h 45 à 16 h 30
Mercredi 8 h 45 à 16 h 30
Jeudi 8 h 45 à 16 h 30
Vendredi 8 h 45 à 16 h 30
Samedi Fermé
Dimanche Fermé

Nous sorons fermés pour les congés fériés suivants : Jour du travail, Action de grâce, Jour de la famille, Pâques.

Autres liens utiles

Haut de page